For whom is Duke University named?

Duke University was founded in 1838 as the Union Institute and Randolph College, and renamed Trinity College in 1851.

The Durham, North Carolina, institution became Duke University in 1924 in commemoration of a $40 million donation from tobacco mogul James B. Duke.

Leave a Comment