What are Sir Walter Scott’s “Waverley Novels”?

These romances about life in Scotland were published anonymously by Sir Walter Scott under the credit “the author of Waverley.” The first book, Waverley, appeared in 1814 and helped to shift Scott’s career from poetry to fiction. The Waverley novels include:

Guy Mannering (1815)

Old Mortality (1816)

Rob Roy (1818)

The Heart of Midlothian (1818)

The Bride of Lammermoor (1819)