How did Puerto Rico become an American possession?

The United States took over the island of Puerto Rico from Spain in 1898 as a result of the Spanish-American War.

Since 1917, Puerto Ricans have been considered U.S. citizens.

Since 1952, the island has been a self-governing commonwealth, voluntarily associated with the U.S.