How many continents are there?

In the traditional list, there are seven continents:

Africa, Antarctica, Asia, Australia, Europe, North America, and South America.

However, Europe and Asia are sometimes considered a single continent, Eurasia, making only six.

Asia is the largest continent, comprising about 17 million square miles.

Australia is the smallest, comprising only about 3 million square miles.