What are the major cycles of English mystery plays?

Four main collections of English mystery plays based on biblical episodes survive:

The York Cycle (early fourteenth century), forty-eight plays

The Towneley Cycle (mid-fourteenth—early fifteenth century), thirty-two plays

The Chester Cycle (fourteenth century), twenty-four plays

The Coventry (or N Town) Cycle (fifteenth century), forty-three plays

Leave a Comment