Who has been awarded the O. Henry Prize for short stories more times than any other writer?

The Society of Arts and Sciences gave the O. Henry Prize three times to Stephen Vincent Benet, for “An End to Dreams” (1932), “The Devil and Daniel Webster” (1937), and “Freedom’s a Hard-Bought Thing” (1940).

Benet was also awarded the Pulitzer Prize in poetry for John Brown’s Body in 1929.