How many French and Indian Wars were there and what were they called in England?

Four major “French and Indian Wars” were fought in colonial times by Britain and France for control of North America.

Each was part of a larger struggle involving shifting alliances, fighting in Europe, and colonial battles in other parts of the world.

The struggle ended in 1763 with Britain winning most of France’s American empire, including Canada and territories east of the Mississippi River.

The four wars were:

American Name European Name
King William’s War The War of the Grand Alliance

Queen Anne’s War (1701-13) The War of the Spanish Succession

King George’s War (1744-48) The War of the Austrian Succession

The French and Indian War The Seven Years’ War