How many Madison Square Gardens have there been?

There have been four Madison Square Gardens, but only the first two were on Madison Square, at Madison Avenue and East Twenty-sixth Street.

The first arena, originally a railroad depot, was given the name Madison Square Garden in 1879.

The second was designed by Stanford White and built in 1890.

The third, located between Forty-ninth and Fiftieth Streets on Eighth Avenue, rose in 1925.

The fourth was built in 1968 and extends from West Thirty-first to West Thirty-third Streets between Seventh and Eighth Avenues.