When was the National Baseball League formed?

The baseball league was formed in 1876.

Its charter members were Chicago, St. Louis, Hartford, Boston, Louisville, New York, Philadelphia, and Cincinnati.

The American League was founded in 1900 and received major league status in 1901.

Its charter members included Chicago, Boston, Detroit, Philadelphia, Washington, Cleveland, Milwaukee, and Baltimore.