Who were the first players inducted into the Baseball Hall of Fame?

The first group, inducted in the 1936 Baseball Hall of Fame, consisted of Ty Cobb, Walter Johnson, Christy Mathewson, Babe Ruth, and Honus Wagner.

Tyrus Raymond Cobb (1886-1961), “the Georgia Peach,” had played for the Detroit Tigers. Walter Perry Johnson (1887-1946) had pitched for the Washington Senators.

Christopher Mathewson (1880-1925) had been a pitcher for the New York Giants.

George Herman (“Babe”) Ruth (1895-1948) was the New York Yankees’ “Sultan of Swat.” John Peter (“Honus”) Wagner (1867-1955), “the Flying Dutchman,” was a shortstop for the Pittsburgh Pirates.